Instant Backpackers
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  3.2
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  3.6
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  3.1
 Total  3.4

"Great value and great location"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Mikey S. of Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed:   April 17, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place is great value, has a great location, had available underground parking for us (first come first serve basis), surprisingly comfy towels, great black out curtains, and comfy beds, and nice staff.

Only con was the weak shower, but no biggy.

"Good place, value for the money"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   OSCar N. of Malmoe, Sweden
Reviewed:   July 24, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Affordable living downtown Portland. Great place to stay

"Great x (Location, Hotel, Pubic Transportation, Price)"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Richard C. of NY,NY, United States
Reviewed:   September 28, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was a great find for Portland....near various public transport options...late night dinner next door, friendly staff.

"good location"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Ant O. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   August 20, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The location is very good for the price. This hostel is a bit different than others as it is basically one big room with bunk beds, shared bathroom, lockers, kitchen and living area within a classic hotel.
If you like hostels and don't mind the heat, you'll enjoy staying there.

"Great stay and nice stuff"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Peter L. of Ullugullu, Germany
Reviewed:   July 12, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The room was good for my purpose. All I needed and the staff was always willing to help me, also a month after my stay, when I asked for a second copy of my bill.

"Simple, Satisfactory"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Pearlyn C. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   May 23, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location and sufficient facilities for a stay, although with no common areas unlike other hostels. Tax and linen fees are also not included in the sum stated online so be prepared to pay more.

"AAE Downtown Portlander"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Michael R. of Whistler, Canada
Reviewed:   September 10, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Went to Portland in July, high season, as a brewery tourist. Most places were booked up, but AAE Downtown Portlander had rooms available. We were budget tourists looking for a place to crash at the end of the day. The AAE Downtown Portlander provided this. We're not very fussy. If it's clean, we're happy.

I booked online via instantworldbooking for a double with two beds. On my booking confirmation it said "1 Room. Double (with 2 beds)." Upon arrival I was informed that this was for a room with a single bed. I was kind of expecting this as instantworldbooking was a bit ambiguous (below my choice was "1 Room. 2 Person 2 Double Bed Private (with 2 beds)" which led me to believe that my understanding may be a misconstrued). So, my only suggestion would be to get rid of the "(with 2 beds)" after "1 Room. Double." I was not particularly fussed, but some people may be.

In short: Good location, clean. Would go back.

"Yay!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jan P. of Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewed:   July 19, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
LOVED IT! Great room, price and location.

"The price was different with booked!"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Chiachun C. of BC, Canada
Reviewed:   July 18, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I don't know why the price was different!
The hotel just said I need to paid tax.
But I don't know how did he count the tax!
He said around 15%~20%!
So expensive!!!!!
I think the tax percentage need to write on booking system!
Let we know how much money I should pay extra!

"Service program"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   JING-KUAN C. of BURNABY, Canada
Reviewed:   July 8, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There isn't taking care of your luggages after you check out.
also the staff unfriendly treat me cause they misunderstood my booking.


1 - 10 of 11 reviews  Next 1 result




InstantBackpackers Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us