Instant Backpackers
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  3.2
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  3.6
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  3.1
 Total  3.4

"Terrible Bait and Switch"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Phil P. of Shelby, NC, United States
Reviewed:   November 17, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2015     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I made a reservation with Instant World Booking which I will never, NEVER, N E V E R do again for a dormitory room and the motel would not honor it. Instead they only offered a private room at FOUR TIMES the rate of my confirmed reservation. They offered an explanation of a rediculous policy that only people under 30 could stay in the dormitory room. There was nothing said about this when I made the reservation.
I would not advize anyone to stay there because they will not honor a confirmed reservation and they have a predgious against people over 30 as shown by their rediculous policy. I had to find another motel. On a scale of 1-10 I would rate it MINUS 10!

"THE WORST"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Elizabeth B. of Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   September 15, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
ABSOLUTELY the WORST experience I've had at a hostel. The staff wasn't very friendly, the place smelled. One night, one person in the room committed all over the bathroom and the staff was completely unwilling to have someone help clean it up. Another girl staying there let me know that they maybe have the bathroom cleaned once a week. GROSS. I can't believe I even paid money to stay there and would never recommend it to anyone.

"Horror"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Jossana H. of Tacoma, United States
Reviewed:   June 3, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stinky rooms, dirty bathrooms, was a fluorescent lamp over our sink... The towels were full of hair.. Disgusting!

"Not a Hostel"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Simone D. of Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   September 3, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
AAE Portland Downtowner IS NOT A HOSTEL. It is a run down, clapped out, gross motel, with dodgy security - after 10pm the reception area is closed, and the stairwell door is left unlocked for afterhours access to rooms. I got an internet rate of $55 per night, but was charged $75 per night, as they refused to honour my internet booking, saying they didn't know pilgrimreservations as an internet provider, and had no obligation to honour the rates published . Upon checking my credit card account, I can see that I've actually been charged 3 times for this stay as well as the initial deposit I paid via this website. Getting the money back has been nothing short of difficult and expensive especially since I'm not resident in America!
DO NOT RECOMMEND A STAY HERE. You can get much better accommodation for the same rate elsewhere.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




InstantBackpackers Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us